Louisville Government Agencies

Louisville is governed by an executive called the Metro Mayor and a legislature called the Metro Council. The council consists of 26 seats representing local districts.

The city also has its own Louisville Metro Police Department, Louisville Metro EMS and Louisville Division of Fire. All transport is overseen by the Transit Authority of River City (TARC). Electricity is provided to the city by Louisville Gas & Electric and water by the Louisville Water Company.

Directory of Government Agency Web Sites